A Playground for Non-Humans at the Architectural Association

DSCF4004 REV copy 1000x543

Image: Max Creasy

**Please note: In accordance with UK government regulations the Playground for Non-Humans will close from Thursday 5 November. All online events will continue as planned. 

Inspired by the Architecture for Dogs exhibition, London’s prestigious Architectural Association School of Architecture (AA) hosts ‘A Playground for Non-Humans’: a week of installations and events in association with Japan House London at Bedford Square.

Installations include the Architecture for Dogs Roadshow: an interactive display of four pieces from Japan House London’s Architecture for Dogs exhibition created by the world-renowned architects and designers Atelier Bow Wow, Kuma Kengo, MVRDV and Hara Kenya.

Accompanying the Roadshow is a selection of new works specially created by members and friends of the AA as part of the school’s ‘Architecture for Non-Humans Design Competition’. Developed in response to Architecture for Dogs, the competition and resulting exhibition, supported by Maeda Corporation, examine the importance of non-human inhabitation in its various and diverse forms across the city environment and seek to trigger a discussion around alternative models of urban living that embrace today’s challenges.

A round table discussion and a programme of events around the theme of Architecture for Non-Humans runs concurrently to the installations. 

Events held by the Architectural Association for this project include:

Tuesday 3 November, 10:30-12:30: Woof! Woof! (the quarantine interviews) by AA LAWuN

Tuesday 3 November, 18:00-19:30: Animal Architectures

An online panel discussion addressing the role of the architect in designing animal architectures or spaces that are beneficial to all species.  

Thursday 5 November, 11:00-12:30: Designing for Non-Humans

An online panel discussion exploring what it means to design cities equitably for all species to enjoy. Panellists include Iyo Toyo, Tsukamoto Yoshihara (Atelier Bow Wow), Catherine du Toit, Iona Man, Camille Bongard, Matis Barollier and Cesar Jucker.