Six Native Dogs of Japan: Worksheets


dog 1 2 1000x543

Six breeds of dog have been identified as true native breeds of Japan: Shiba Inu, Akita Ken, Hokkaidō Ken, Kai Ken, Kishū Ken and Shikoku Inu. Known as Nihon-ken (lit. ‘Japanese dogs’) the breeds have been designated as living Natural Monuments of Japan (natural features or entities of outstanding or unique value) by the Japanese government

Admired abroad, these six breeds are protected by international conservation associations. Originating as hunting dogs, as well as being physically able, Nihon-ken are said to be brave, honest, and loyal to the person they consider their master, and capable of forming strong bonds.

Learn about the origins and characteristics of each of the Japanese native dog breeds and use your knowledge to colour in each dog with Japan House London’s original series of Japanese dog colouring-in worksheets. Can you write each dog’s name in kanji characters in the correct stroke order?

Download worksheets below.

Shiba square Shiba Inu

Akita square2 Akita Ken

HokkaidoKen Hokkaidō Ken

KishuKen Kishū Ken

Shikoku Inu Shikoku Inu